It’s not even winter, yet, and I’m already in the mood for snow.  Even if I can’t be in the Swiss Alps on a snowboard, I can get my snow fix from the warmth of my blanket with these snow scenes.  Here are five snowy movies I recommend for fall and winter.

Snow Falling on Cedars: The whole town is engulfed in layers of powder as they submerse themselves in a local trial, and a reporter recalls his former romance and still aching heartbreak as the story unfolds.  Available on Netflix instant streaming.

Hugo: This beautiful film by Martin Scorsese follows an orphaned boy as he unravels a mystery left behind by his father, through clocks, a train station and a snowy Paris setting.  See it on Netflix instant streaming now.

How the Grinch Stole Christmas: Dr. Seuss’ Whoville is one of the most magical snowy settings (it is in a snowflake, after all).  Gusts of powdery snow roll over the Grinch’s mountain as he destroys and mends the holiday season.  Check it out on Amazon Instant Video.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind: This creatively told movie tells a love story, backwards (as if in a dream), as Jim Carrey’s character tries to erase his girlfriend from his memory.  It’s not entirely set in snow, but the scenes where they lie on the icy lake and play in the snow by the ocean are dreamy and perfect.  See it at Netflix instantly.

Serendipity: This classic wintery romance not only features the white stuff, but also classic New York City ice skating and the now iconic frozen hot chocolate.  Of course, the movie ends with snow falling on the ice rink in Central Park as the destined lovers reunite.  Find out where to see it on Watch It.

These are just five of some of my favorite snow movies, but there are tons of others, like The Saint and The Polar Express, and I’m really looking forward to Anna Karenina.  What did I leave out?  Let me know in the comments what you recommend!

