I stayed up for hours, reading from beginning to end, the novel Choke by Chuck Palahniuk.  This author wrote Fight Club, and you identify his voice from page one.  He hooked me with a sarcastic, dismal and pessimistic first-person narrator, once again delving into addition recovery groups.  The same repetitive phrases, interludes into anatomy, medical jargon, themes of addiction and a trapped and boring society are here just as in Fight Club.  The character here, a sex addict and medical school dropout, recounts his past of meaningless sex with strangers and childhood memories with his insane (and sometimes deep and profound) mother.  He supports his dying mother by working at a colonial re-creation attraction and by choking at restaurants to get money from those who become heroes to save him.  The book deals with insanity, addiction, parental ties, symbols, freedom from socialization, and it ends with a crazy bang as his life hits rock bottom and only ruins are left to rebuild.  I highly recommend it.

I also wanted to share my beautiful fresh lilies I’m enjoying.

Choke

Choke by Chuck Palahniuk

Fresh Lilies

Fresh Lilies

